Homemade Wheat Free Honey Oat Pizza Crust

My hubby has been begging me to make my homemade pizza for awhile. And when I say begging, I mean BEGGING. And when I say awhile, I mean like 2 years. LOL For whatever reason I did not like using our counters at our old house for stuff like making pizza. Don’t ask me. I’m weird like that. ;P

Anyways. When I use to make the pizza I made a Honey Wheat crust. I got the recipe originally from a friend of mine (Bobbi @ NHerShoes). But I have since then tweaked the recipe to what I like. Here is the original recipe just in case you are interested.

Now here is the tweaked recipe:

Honey Oat Pizza Crust

1 cup warm water
1 packet active dry yeast
3 cups oat flour (I ground up rolled oats in my Bella Blender)
1 tablespoon honey
1/4 ground flax seed
1 teaspoon sea salt

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a small bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Let stand until creamy. For about 10 minutes.

In a large bowl stir together 2 cups of oat flour, ground flax seed and salt. Make a well in the middle, add & yeast mixture. Stir together very well. You may need to add a handful more of oat flour at this point. So take that from the other cup of oat flour. Then cover, set it in a warm place and let it rise for about 5 minutes.

When done rising, take dough out of bowl and put on a hard surface that has been sprinkled with oat flour. Roll out the dough and then put on a pizza pan that has been sprayed with a non-stick spray and poke holes in the dough with a  fork.

Bake in pre-heated oven for about 12 minutes or until desired crispiness is achieved.

Take out of oven and put in topping and then back for 10 minutes.

Then ENJOY!

honeyoatpizzaI enjoyed my pizza with a side salad. It was all SUPER delicious! And my hubby enjoyed it as well. And if you know him, he loves his pizza, hamburgers, hot dogs, meat and potatoes. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

