Is This For Real?!?

Me and my husband have been trying for 6 years to get pregnant on our own. We started off with “not preventing”. Then I tried taking my temperature (but that was just stressful). Then we just tried to not worry about it. In the midst of all of that, we have prayed, prayed, prayed.

In those 6 years, I saw countless friends and family get pregnant. Some with no problem at all, and some after trying for while. I’m going to be completely honest, it did hurt. There were countless tears, praying, and comforting. But what really helped me was an article that I read, I think, at the beginning of this year. It talked about how life isn’t fair. And how we need to not worry about what God is blessing other people with, instead we need to be focused on what God wants us to do and how He wants to work through us. Or something along that line. I wish I had saved the link. Because it really changed my mindset on God’s timing and such. We have always believed that God’s timing is perfect. We believe that more now than ever!

I even tried seeking help from my previous OB. That OB ordered some blood work of which it all came back fine apparently, but then didn’t offer any more help. I never went back to that Doctor. I actually didn’t try to find another OB for almost 4 years after that.

So, I finally saw a new OB (that I LOVE) mid-June of this year. This OB was totally different than the last. I get a long really well with this one and they were super helpful in wanting to help us get pregnant. They ordered a whole bunch of blood work that I got done the next day.

The day after that I got a call with the results, of which I was not expecting results that fast. Turns out my Prolactin was too high and probably had been that way for close to 10 years. From there I was referred to an endocrinologist that I saw mid-July.

Now here comes the part that freaked me out the most…

My first appointment I was ordered to have an MRI to see if I have a tumor on my pituitary gland.

Um. WHAT? A tumor? I might have a tumor in my head?

Yeah, I was freaked out!

But then I did some research and found out that most pituitary gland tumors are benign and you just need some meds to correct it.

I had the MRI a week after that. It was the first MRI I had ever had. Can I just say, thank GOD I’m not claustrophobic! I can totally see why that would freak people out!

My follow up appointment was a few weeks after that at which I did find out I have a 3 mm tumor on my pituitary gland. And that my Dr was not worried about it since it’s so small. At that appointment my Dr wrote me prescription for some medicine to hopefully correct the high prolactin and help us get pregnant.

I started taking my new medicine the day after. Oh and you gotta love adjusting to new medicine! Tiredness and nausea were my biggest culprits.

I was on the medicine for a month before I had another follow up appointment. Now with this appointment we would see if the medicine was helping my prolactin levels.

So the day of my follow up came. I was nervous, but at peace. When I was waiting for the Dr to come in to tell me my results I noticed this plaque/picture with this quote: “Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass, it’s about learning to dance in the rain.” That really resonated with me, because this had also been a lesson in learning to trust God. That He is looking out for our well being and that He knows what is best. It had also been a lesson in just praising God through any all circumstance.

Before this appointment I had found out that normal prolactin levels should be between 3.3-26.7 and that mine before the medicine had been 63. So when I was told that my prolactin was now at 7.3 I was SOOO happy!!! The medicine was working!

After this I started doing ovulation predictors. Thank God I was actually ovulating!!! We obviously didn’t get pregnant in September. And that’s ok.

The next time I ovulated was day 17 and a little bit into day 18. I thought we had missed our chance with my ovulation.

On the evening of October 12th, just for fun, I took a pregnancy test. After I took it I completely forgot about and went about what I was doing before hand. About 30-45 minutes later I was getting stuff together for going out of town the next day. I went into the bathroom to get my toiletries together when I look down at the pregnancy test and see a faint second line….

Uhhhhh…WHAT???????

I literally stood there for a minute shell shocked. I then snapped out of it and as calmly as I could, I went and got my husband. I lead him to the bathroom and pointed to the pregnancy test and asked, “Am I seeing this right? Do you see a second line as well???” And then he asked, “What does that mean?” And i tell him it basically means I’m pregnant! Granted on that day I was just about to turn 4 weeks pregnant so the line wouldn’t be very dark yet. But at that moment my heart started beating so fast! Could this finally be happening????

We then prayed that if I really was pregnant that I would have a healthy and safe pregnancy. And just really praising Him since this had been a long time coming!

I try to remain calm that whole night (hahaha, yeah right). I had decided that I would take a different pregnancy test the next morning when I first go to the bathroom.

So, the next morning, I woke up around 7:30. I peed on the stick as usual. SO nervous that the second line wouldn’t show up and that it would once again be negative like all the other pregnancy test I had taken in the past.

But NOPE! there was the faint second line!!!!!!!!!!!!

photo-4

I then figured out that my due date is June 21, 2015. And my first Prenatal appointment is December 2nd.

Of course, we told immediate family and a few friends who have prayed for us for so long and knew our situation. 🙂

When I told one of my friends, she said, “I KNEW IT!!! I could tell by your photos that you were glowing and I could just see it on you!” See, we had family photos taken that Sunday night and had already posted some. It did my heart good hearing someone say they could see it. Because funny enough, I can typically tell in photos when someone is pregnant, too. Weird I know. lol

I am now 11 weeks and so much has already changed with being pregnant. Constant nausea is one of many. haha

Here is our first ultrasound from today. We didn’t get to hear the heart beat yet, but baby was moving around and we could visibly see the heart beating. It was incredible to see and so very surreal! 🙂

12214_babyk_ultrasound

 

And a lot of you may have already seen this, but this is how we announced the baby on Facebook:

molly_big_sister

Yes, our pup looks thrilled. lol She has actually been super protective of me. Following me around more than she used to.

From the beginning I have been to thankful to God for this baby and this miracle of being able to get pregnant. I did not think we would get pregnant so quickly after me starting this medicine, but it really does go to show that, again, God’s timing is perfect and He can make anything happen. Even thus far, He has taught me even more to trust Him. It is very humbling to think how He has entrusted this precious little one to us to nurture and to be Godly parents to when he/she is born. Every day we pray for our baby bunny (our nickname for the baby) and we thank God for him or her.

In closing, we are asking for prayers that I have a healthy pregnancy and a healthy baby come June. 🙂

Thank you all for your outpouring of love! 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Milt Davis says:

    thanks for sharing and congratulations. We did the assistance route for Addie an I know the stress and uncertainty are incredible. you will be a wonderful other

  2. ksdowney says:

    Congrats Jamie! I am thrilled for you and Rob! Your story is heartwarming and brave. I will hold the three of you in prayer.

Leave a Reply

